U.S Lists 20 Nigerian States as Unsafe to Travel to

The United States of America has listed the following 20 Nigerian States as unsafe for their citizens to travel to due to security issues:


  1. Adamawa
  2. Borno
  3. Yobe
  4. Bauchi
  5. Bayelsa
  6. Delta
  7. Edo
  8. Gombe
  9. Imo
  10. Jigawa
  11. Kaduna
  12. Kano
  13. Katsina
  14. Kebbi
  15. Kogi
  16. Niger
  17. Plateau
  18. Rivers
  19. Sokoto
  20. Zamfara.


The directive read: “Based on safety and security risk assessments, the Embassy maintains restrictions for travel by US officials to the states listed above; officials must receive advance clearance by the US Mission for any travel to those states.”


The safety message also warns travelers to be especially cautious at certain locations: “The U.S. Mission advises all U.S. citizens to be particularly vigilant around government security facilities; churches, mosques, and other places of worship; locations where large crowds may gather, such as hotels, clubs, bars, restaurants, markets, shopping malls; and other areas frequented by expatriates and foreign travelers.”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *